Suffolk County DWI Lawyer Explains DWI Charges
If you were recently arrested for driving while intoxicated, you may be wondering, what’s going to happen next? In the majority of cases, a DWI results in a criminal charge. Having a criminal record can have unpleasant consequences for your career and personal relationships. However, a DWI does not have to ruin your life. Mistakes happen, and they can happen to anyone. What’s critical is that you reach out to a local Suffolk County DWI lawyer as soon as possible. An experienced New York criminal defense attorney will listen to you, let you know when you’re up against, and build a case that will minimize the impact of a DWI on your life.
This post will discuss what you can expect after you are charged with a DWI. This will greatly depend on your current criminal background and the seriousness of the incident itself.
DWI, DWAI, or DUI, which is it?
Exactly how your case is classified depends primarily on one thing, the state that you are living in. Some states give DUIs or DWIs depending on whether you had been under the influence of alcohol or drugs. If you are in New York, all cases are classified as DWIs.
There are five categories of a DWI that you can be charged with in:
- Alcohol-DWAI (Driving while ability impaired): Any blood alcohol content (BAC) below .08% that causes any impairment
- DWI: BAC of .08% or above
- Aggravated DWI: BAC above .18% or you were driving with a child who was 15 years old or less
If there were drugs involved, you may receive a:
- Drug-DWI: If you were under the influence of drugs and found impaired in your driving ability
- Combination-DWI: You were under the influence of both drugs and alcohol
To determine exactly which category you were (or should have) been charged with, it is recommended that you get in touch with a Suffolk County DWI lawyer.
If this is your first offense Suffolk County DWI Lawyer Explains DWI Charges
Your sentencing will largely depend on which category you were charged with. If you had first offense, DWI with a BAC of .08% or above, you may be facing the following:
- A fine between $500 and $1,000
- A license suspension for a minimum of six months
- The installment of an ignition interlock
- Jail time of up to one year
- Court fees around $400
- Probation for three years
- A rise in insurance premiums of approximately 89%
Luckily, for a first offense DWI, there is no mandated minimum jail sentence. Additionally, you may be eligible to receive a conditional license under some circumstances. This is a type of license that will allow you to drive to work, school, and take care of other essential errands. An experienced Suffolk County DWI lawyer will be able to help you figure out your options and see if you qualify.
If this is a subsequent offense, drug offense, or an aggravated DWI
In New York, subsequent charges, drug charges, and of course, aggravated DWIs all carry a harsher penalty than either a DWAI or an alcohol-DWI. With these types of charges, fines can sky-rocket and receiving an extended jail sentence will become much more likely. At this stage, it’s also very likely that you will lose your license for a year or more, with no chance to have a conditional license.
In these cases, speaking with a Suffolk County DWI lawyer will be essential. If you’re in need of an attorney and you’ve had one or more DWIs, don’t wait any longer! Our expert lawyers at Matera Law have over 20 years of experience fighting DWI cases. We know that each case is unique, and we always fight with the needs of our clients in mind.
Call us today for a FREE consultation with a dedicated Suffolk County DWI lawyer!
If you or someone you love is in need of an experienced personal injury lawyer or criminal defense attorney, contact us today for a free confidential consultation. We proudly serve Suffolk County, Nassau County, Long Island, Brooklyn, Manhattan, Bronx, Queens, and throughout New York State.
Follow us on Facebook for daily updates!