7 tips for handling an accident with an uninsured driver

7 tips for handling an accident with an uninsured driver

7 tips for handling an accident with an uninsured driver

It can happen in an instance. You are on your way to work and suddenly, you realize the car behind you isn’t going to stop, and then CRUNCH. Then, when you both stop to assess the damage and if anyone is injured, you find out you were hit by an uninsured driver. What are you supposed to do now?

Dealing with an accident claim can be very frustrating, especially if you or someone in your family was injured in the crash. With an estimated one in eight drivers carrying no insurance, the chances you will be involved in an accident with an uninsured drivers are high. If you are, you need to know what your next steps should be.

Here are seven tips when you are involved in an accident with an uninsured driver:

  1. Call the police. You need to formally report the accident. A police report of the accident will help you get your insurance company to cover your expenses.
  2. Do not admit fault for the accident. If you feel you were somewhat at fault for the accident, do not admit that. Also, know that New York is a no-fault state, meaning your insurance company must pay damages no matter who is at fault for the accident.
  3. Get the other driver’s contact information (address, phone number and email).
  4. Take photos of the accident to document the damage and scene for your insurance company.
  5. Don’t accept money from the other driver. If the other driver has no insurance, he or she likely will face hefty fines and penalties. As a result, the other driver may offer you cash to cover your expenses. Don’t accept it and follow the next step listed here.
  6. Report the accident to your insurance company. In New York, the minimum amount of car insurance you are required to carry covers $25,000 in medical expenses per person in an accident, $50,000 in medical expenses total per accident and $10,000 in property damage. You may have more coverage than that and may even have insurance to cover an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver.
  7. Don’t accept an injury settlement without consulting an attorney. A personal injury attorney can advise you best on what injury compensation you may be entitled to from your insurance company.
See also  Commercial trucks can cause devastating injuries or death

By following these tips, you will be able to handle an injury and property damage claim more easily. Plus, you will position yourself to receive the maximum compensation from your insurance company.

If you or someone you love is in need of an experienced personal injury lawyer or criminal defense attorney, contact us today for a free confidential consultation. We proudly serve Suffolk CountyNassau County, Long Island, BrooklynManhattanBronxQueensand throughout New York State.

Follow us on Facebook for daily updates!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *