Know the penalties for New York DUI

Know the penalties for New York DUI

Learn about the penalties for New York DUI

If you receive a conviction in New York for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, you may receive a fine, license suspension and even jail time. In addition to DWI charges for blood alcohol content above 0.08%, motorists in the state can receive a charge of driving while ability impaired for BAC between 0.05% and 0.07%. Drivers with BAC higher than 0.18% receive elevated penalties. 

Before facing a DWAI or DWI charge in court, learn more about potential legal consequences of these offenses. 

DWAI penalties 

A conviction of DWAI can result in: 

  • A 90-day license suspension, up to 15 days in jail and a $500 fine for the first offense 
  • A license suspension of at least six months, 30 days in jail and a $750 fine for the second offense within five years 
  • A license suspension of at least six months, 180 days in jail and a $1,500 fine for a third offense within 10 years 

DUI penalties 

For a DUI conviction, potential penalties include: 

  • A license suspension of at least six months, up to one year in jail and a $1,000 fine for a first offense  
  • A license suspension of at least 12 months, up to four years in jail and a $5,000 fine for a second offense in 10 years 
  • A license suspension of at least 12 months, up to seven years in jail and a $10,000 fine for a third offense in 10 years 

Aggravated DUI penalties 

For high-BAC convictions, you could receive: 

  • A license suspension of at least 12 months, up to one year in jail and a $2,500 fine for a first offense  
  • A license suspension of at least 18 months, up to four years in jail and a $5,000 fine for a second offense in 10 years 
  • A license suspension of at least 18 months, up to seven years in jail and a $10,000 fine for a second offense in 10 years 
See also  Car accidents can result in major medical expenses

Because New York is an implied consent state, you will receive additional penalties if you refuse to take a breath test. 

If you or someone you love is in need of an experienced personal injury lawyer or criminal defense attorney, contact us today for a free confidential consultation. We proudly serve Suffolk CountyNassau County, Long Island, BrooklynManhattanBronxQueensand throughout New York State.

Follow us on Facebook for daily updates!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *